Shardul takes four as India crush Sri Lanka

India won the toss and elected to bowl first against Sri Lanka in a Nidahas Twenty20 Tri-Series match, here today.

Sri Lanka are leading the table on net run rate ahead of India and Bangladesh.

Pandey hit an unbeaten 42 from 31 balls and Karthik was 39 not out as India recovered from 4-85 to win by six wickets. Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh will face each other twice in the group phase before the top two meet in the final on March 18.

The hosts have suffered a huge blow as skipper Chandimal has been handed a two-match ban over slow over-rate in their game against Bangladesh.

Perera, who scored a match-winning half-century against India, finishing with 74 off 48 deliveries with eight fours and two sixes.

Sri Lanka were plunged into a minor crisis yesterday evening when the International Cricket Council suspended their captain, Dinesh Chandimal, for two matches in the Nidahas Trophy after the team failed to maintain an acceptable over rate in their first two matches.

India need 9 to win from 12 balls.

In his absence, Thisara Perera has been named stand-in skipper.

More news: Hundreds show up against Richard Spencer at Michigan State University

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wk).

After 15 overs: India's score is 123 for 4.

India also began in unconventional fashion with Rohit Sharma looking to go on the aggressive right from the start.

KL Rahul (18), who came in place of Rishabh Pant, looked in good tough during his short stay before being dismissed in a unusual manner.

The big blow for Sri Lanka came when Kusal Mendis departed next, giving away a soft catch to Rohit off Chahal.

Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fine after Chandimal's side was ruled to be four overs short of their target when time allowances were taken into consideration.

After 14 overs: India's score is 114 for 4.

All three teams - India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh - have one win each to their names after the first round of matches.

  • Tabitha Byrd