Why do not you eat meat in Lent?

Last SlideNext Slide

GUADALAJARA, Jalisco - Lent is a time of preparation for the feast of the Resurrection of Christ, also called Easter. It arose almost from the beginnings of Christianity. At first, the number of days varied, but eventually it was set at 40.

In Holy Scripture, the number 40 means preparation time. Thus we can see, for example, the 40 days that Christ was in the wilderness.

From the 40 was derived the name "quarantine" or "Lent."

More news: Color preferences - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

NOTE

It is a traditional doctrine of Christian spirituality as a sign of repentance to perform some form of penance. Some stop smoking, for example. The Church, for its part, has specified certain forms of penance, to ensure that Catholics do something. The Code of Canon Law specifies the obligations of Catholics in the time of Lent.

RELATED NOTE: Lent recipes in three simple steps

Requires a Catholic of 14 years of age and until his death to refrain from eating meat on Friday in honor of the Passion of Jesus on Good Friday. Meat is considered meat and organs of mammals and poultry. Also soups and creams from them are prohibited. Sea and freshwater fish, amphibians, reptiles and shellfish are allowed as well as products derived from animals such as margarine and gelatin without meat flavor. Every Friday, unless they coincide with a solemnity, abstinence from flesh must be kept.

Read or Share this story: http://www.lavozarizona.com/story/inicio/2015/02/18/by-qu-no-se-come-la-carne/23611267/

  • Adam Floyd