Alabama vs. Clemson, Georgia vs

The two teams previous match-ups in the playoff were in the championship game.

We thought we would get the Crimson Tide and the Bulldogs back in December before Auburn spoiled that in claiming the SEC West.

Clemson, Alabama, Georgia and Oklahoma will compete in the semifinals on New Year's Day, hoping to earn a spot in the January 8 CFP national championship game.

Both horses have one win in seven career starts. The Bulldogs closed as a consensus one-point favorite over Alabama in that game.

The Sugar Bowl is the true main event of the New Year's Day bowl schedule.

More news: Latvala resigns after report finds probable cause, recommends criminal investigation

The touchdown made it a two-possession game and the Tide gained more breathing room on the first play after the ensuing kickoff with a pick six. It's a rematch of the last two national title games, both of which were decided in the final seconds.

A pair of Alabama defensive players scored touchdowns 13 seconds apart in the third quarter, and the No. 4 Crimson Tide dominated top-ranked Clemson 24-6 in the Sugar Bowl semifinal game Monday night to give coach Nick Saban another shot at his record sixth national title.

Monday's game will kick off at 5 p.m. and will be televised nationally on ESPN.

Subsequent camera angles showed a blatant offensive pass interference penalty committed by Alabama that went uncalled.

Alabama surrenders just 11.5 points per game, even after allowing 26 points to Auburn in a loss that prevented them from reaching the SEC Championship Game. A live stream is available on WatchESPN.

  • Tabitha Byrd