Captain Amarinder Singh sworn in as 26th Chief Minister of Punjab

One of the strongest regional satraps of the Congress, Amarinder Singh put the party back in the saddle in Punjab after the "father of all battles" that decimated the SAD and crushed the AAP's dream of expanding its footprint beyond Delhi. "Wishing you the very best in working for Punjab's development", the PM tweeted.

The election which had turned into a triangular contest at the beginning of campaigning with the entry of the AAP in the state Assembly election saw the Congress emerging as the largest party receiving a 38.5 percent vote share and winning almost two-third seats.

Karan Avtar replaced Sarvesh Kaushal who was posted as Special Chief Secretary-cum-Director General Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration. Speculations were rife that Navjot Singh Sidhu will be the Deputy chief minister of the state. Unlike the previous regimes, there will be no deputy chief minister, at least for now.

This is the second time that Amarinder, 75, has become Chief Minister of the state. The Congress has 77 MLAs in the Assembly.

The oath ceremony was held at 10:00 AM as this was an auspicious time. Along with him, Manpreet Badal, Razia Sultana, Charanjit Channi and Brahm Mohindra will be included as cabinet ministers.

More news: Arsenal Crush Minnows To Advance To FA Cup Semis

Two days before the ceremony, the Punjab Congress had said it would be a simple affair as an austerity measure.

Manmohan Singh, Rahul Gandhi, National Conference leaders Farooq Abdullah and his son Omar Abdullah and former UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh will be attending the high-profile swearing-in.

The report adds that as the minister for Panchayati Raj and Municipalities - Sidhu will get office on the fourth floor of the Punjab secretariat and not on the all-important fourth floor where the CM and all senior ministers have their offices.

#10:32: Tript Rajendra Bajwa takes oath as the cabinet minister.

  • Adam Floyd