Faulk picked for College Football Hall of Fame

The coaches going in are Danny Ford (Clemson from 1978-89 and Arkansas from 1993-97); Larry Kehres (Mountain Union from 1986-2012) and Steve Spurrier (Duke from 1987-89, Florida from 1990-2001 and SC from 2005-15).

Spurrier is the winningest head coach in SC history as well as being the winningest head coach in Florida history. He is still the youngest coach in college football history to win a national championship. Then he coached at SC from 2005-midway through the 2015 season, during which time he led the Gamecocks to the 2010 SEC East championship and then three straight 11-win seasons. Ford's winning percentage at Clemson (.760) is still the third best among all ACC head coaches and his total of 96 wins still ties for fifth best in league.

Spurrier is the fourth person to be honored as coach and player.

Coaches Danny Ford, Larry Kehres and Steve Spurrier are also being inducted.

He will be recognized this year as an inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Leading the Denver Broncos to a 24-10 win over the Carolina Panthers in Super Bowl 50, Manning earned his 200th career win (regular season and postseason included) to become the first player to reach that milestone.

More news: Lane Kiffin out as Alabama Offensive Coordinator

In three seasons, Leinart threw for 10,693 yards and 99 touchdowns, completing 64.8% of his passes during that span. The announcement was made Monday morning, just hours before Clemson faces his alma mater, Alabama, for the national championship.

Ford was just 30 years old when he took over as Clemson Head Coach in December of 1978.

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced their 2017 class of inductees on Monday, with a former Boston College standout set to be enshrined with the greats of the game.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class", said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss.

There have been years that have seen the College Football Hall of Fame induction class leave out some names in puzzling fashion, but this year's class appears to hit the nail on the head as strongly as possible. A member of the State of New Mexico Sports Hall of Fame, Urlacher's No. 44 jersey was retired by the Lobos in 2013.

  • Tabitha Byrd